|Statute||Description of Charge||Pts||Fine*||Surcharge*|
|Speeding: 1 to 10 mph||3||$150||$88/$93|
|Speeding: 11 to 20 mph||4||$300||$88/$93|
|Speeding: 21 to 30 mph||6||$300||$88/$93|
|Speeding: 31 to 40 mph||8||$600||$88/$93|
|Speeding: more than 40 mph||11||$600||$88/$93|
|1110(a)||Disobey traffic control device||2||$150||$88/$93|
|1225(c)2||Using a mobile phone||5||$200||$88/$93|
|1225(d)||Using portable elec. device||5||$200||$88/$93|
*Fines increase significantly for second and third offenses. Fines & surcharges can be higher for violations occurring school zones, work zones or other restricted speedways.
If your charge is not listed above, send us an email and we will provide you with information on the amount of points & fines you are currently facing.
Driver Responsibility Assessment
The Department of Motor Vehicles charges a Driver Responsibility Assessment where a licensee receives 6 or more points in an 18-month period (measured from the date the incident). The Assessment is $300 for the first 6 points and $75 for every additional point thereafter. The Assessment may be paid of over period of three years in equal installments. New York State licensees and out-of-state licensees are subject to the Driver Responsibility Assessment. Failure to pay the Driver Responsibility Assessment will result in suspension of a New York State license or driving privileges.
Points will not be added to your New York State driving record if you are convicted of a traffic infraction in another state or country, unless the violation occurred in Ontario or Quebec. This does not mean that your insurance company will not be alerted to the existence of an out-of-state conviction.
New York State has an agreement with Quebec and Ontario. Traffic convictions that occur in these provinces are recorded on your New York State driver record and have the same effect as convictions that occur in New York State.